Join the Genealogy Revolution.
Search for your surname in the largest DNA database of its kind!

My Surname

Banner - Family Tree Maker 2008

Domain Name Registration at 120x60

AfriGeneas States Research Forum

[VA] Counties Formation Part II O thru Y

PART II - VA Counties O thru Y

The following information is taken from 2 sources 1) The Hornbook of Virginia History and 2)A Preliminary Guide to Pre-1904 County Records in the VA State Library and Archives.
For detailed information on the county records available at the Library of VA go to:

For 1850 Map of VA (including those counties which are now WVA go to:

Orange County - Formed in 1734 from Spotsylvania. County seat is Orange

Page County - Formed in 1831 from Rockingham and Shenandoah Counties.

Patrick County - Formed in 1790 from Henry County. County seat is Stuart.

Pittsylvania County - Formed in 1766 from Halifax County. County seat Chatham.

Powhatan County - Formed in 1777 from Cumberland County, part of Chesterfield County added later. County seat is Powhatan.

Prince Edward County - Formed in 1753 from Amelia County. County seat is Farmville.

Prince George County - Formed in 1702 from Charles City County. County seat is Prince George.

Princess Anne County (extinct) - Formed in 1691 from Lower Norfolk, became extinct in 1963 after its consolidation with the City of VA. Beach. County seat is Princess Anne.

Prince William County - Formed in 1730 from Stafford and King George Counties. County seat is Manassas.

PUlaski County - Formed in 1839 from Montgomery and Wythe Counties.

Rappahannock County - There have been 2 named Rappahannock. The first was formed in 1656 from Lancaster and became extinct in 1692 when it was divided into Essex and Richmond Counties. The present county was formed in 1833 from Culpeper. County seat Washington.

Roanoke County - Formed in 1838 from Botetourt County, part of Montgomery County added later. County seat is Salem.

Rockbridge County - Formed in 1788 from Augusta and Botetourt Counties, another part of Botetourt County added later. County seat is Lexington.

Rockingham County - Formed in 1778 from Augusta. County seat is Harrisonburg.

Russell County - Formed in 1786 from Washington County.

Scott County - Formed in 1814 from Lee, Russell and Washington Counties. County seat is Gate City.

Shenandoah County - Formed in 1772 from Frederick County and was originally called Dunmore County. Present name was adopted in 1778. County seat is Woodstock.

Smyth County - Formed in 1832 from Washington and Wythe County. County seat Marion.

Southampton County - Formed in 1749 from Isle of Wight and part of Nansemond County was added later. County seat is Courtland.

Spotsylvania County - Formed in 1720 from Essex, King William and King and Queen Counties. County seat Spotsylvania.

Stafford County - Formed in 1664 from Westmoreland County. County seat is Stafford.

Surry County - Formed about 1652 from James City County. County seat Surry

Sussex County - Formed from Surry County in 1753. County seat Sussex

Tazewell County - Formed in 1799 from Wythe and Russell Counties, parts of Logan County (now WVA), Russell, Wythe and Washington Counties added later.

Upper Norfolk County (extinct) - Established in 1637. Renamed Nansemond in 1646, county seat was Suffolk. The county became the independent city of Nansemond in July 1972 and merged with the city of Suffolk in in July 1974.

Warren County - Formed in 1836 from Shenandoah and Frederick Counties. County seat is Front Royal.

Warrosquyoake County - Was one of original shires formed in 1634, renamed Isle of Wight in 1637.

Warwick County - One of 8 orginal shires formed in 1634, originally called Warwick River. Shorter name adopted in 1643. Warwick County became extinct in 1952, when it became city of Warwick. Consolidated with Newport News in 1958, and took latter's name

Washington County - Formed in 1776 from Fincastle County (Fincastle now extinct), part of Montgomery County added later. County seat is Abingdon.

Westmoreland County - Formed in 1653 from Northumberland County, part of King George added later. County seat is Montross.

Wise County - Formed in 1856 from Lee, Scott, and Russell Counties. Couty seat is Wise.

Wythe County -Formed in 1789 from Montgomery County. Part of Grayson was added later. County seat is Wytheville.

York County - One of 8 original shires formed in 1634. Present name given in 1643. County seat is Yorktown.


Messages In This Thread

[VA] Counties Formation Part II O thru Y
Re: [VA] Counties Formation Part II O thru Y

18 Dec 2002 :: 14 Nov 2008
Copyright © 2002-2008 by AfriGeneas. All rights reserved.
AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy