Join the Genealogy Revolution.
Search for your surname in the largest DNA database of its kind!

My Surname

Banner - Family Tree Maker 2008

Domain Name Registration at 120x60

AfriGeneas States Research Forum

[VA] Counties Formation - Part I A thru N

The following information is taken from 2 sources 1) The Hornbook of Virginia History and 2)A Preliminary Guide to Pre-1904 County Records in the VA State Library and Archives.
For detailed information on the county records available at the Library of VA go to:

For 1850 Map of VA (including those counties which are now WVA go to:

Accomack County (Eastern Shore)- Formed from Northampton County in 1663.

Albemarle County - Formed in 1744 from Goochland County. Part of Louisa County was added in 1761 and certain islands in the Fluvanna River, now called the James River added in 1769.
Alexandria County - Formed in 1789 from a portion of Fairfax County, it became part of DC in 1801, and was named Alexandria County. It was returned to VA in 1846, and the name was changed to Arlington County in 1920.

Alleghany County - Formed in 1822 from Bath, Botetourt and Monroe (Monroe now in WVA) counties. Additional parts of Bath and Monroe were added later.

Amelia County - Formed in 1734 from Prince George and Brunswick County.

Amherst County - Formed in 1761 from Albemarle County.

Appomattax County - Formed in 1845 from Buckingham, Prince Edward, Charlotte, and Campbell Counties. Another part of Campbell was added in 1848.

Arlington County - originally was named Alexandria County (see above)

Augusta County - Formed in 1738 from Orange County. County was so sparsely populated county government not acutually established until 1745.

Bath County - Formed in 1790 from Augusta, Botetourt, and Greenbriar (now WVA) in 1790.

Bedford County - Formed in 1753 from Lunenburg. Parts of Albemarle and Lunenburg were added later.

Bland County - Formed in 1861 from Giles, Wythe and Tazewell Counties. Another part of Giles was added later.

Botetourt County - Formed from Augusta in 1769. Part of Rockbridge was added later.

Brunswick County - Formed in 1720 from Prince George, because of sparse population county govt not organized until 1732. Parts of Surry and Isle of Wight were added after 1732.

Buchanan County - Formed in 1858 from Tazewell and Russell County.

Buckingham County - Formed from Albemarle County in 1761.

Campbell County - Formed from Bedford County in 1781.

Caroline County - Formed in 1727 from Essex, King and Queen and King William County.

Carroll County - Formed from Grayson County in 1842, part of Patrick County added later.

Charles City County - One of the orginal 8 shires formed in 1634.

Charles River County - One of the orginal 8 shires formed in 1634, renamed York County in 1643.

Charlotte County - Formed in 1764 from Lunenburg County.

Chesterfield County - Formed in 1749 from Henrico County.

Clarke County - Formedin 1836 from Frederick County. Part of Warren County was added later.

Craig County - Formed in 1851 from Botetourt, Roanoke, Giles and Monroe (Monroe now WVA) Counties. Parts of Alleghany, Giles, Monroe, and Montgomery Counties added later.

Culpeper County - Formed in 1749 from Orange County.

Cumberland County - Formed in 1749 from Goochland County.

Dickenson County - Formed in 1880 from Russell, Wise and Buchanan Counties.

Dinwiddie County - Formed in 1752 from Prince George County.

Dunmore County - Formed in 1772 from Frederick County. Name changed in 1778 to Shanando (now Shenandoah).

Elizabeth City County - One of the original 8 shires established in 1634. Became extinct in 1952 when incorporated into the City of Hampton (see later posting on VA independent cities)

Essex County - Formed in 1692 from old Rappahannock County.

Fairfax County - Formed in 1742 from Prince William County. See also Arlington County.

Fauquier County - Formed in 1759 from Prince William County.

Fincastle County - Fincastle County - Formed in 1772 from Botetourt County. Became extinct in 1776 when it was divided to form Montgomery, Washington and Kentucky (now the state of Kentucky) Counties. For listing of records at LVA see Montgomery County.

Floyd County - Formed in 1831 from Montgomery County. Part of Franklin added later.

Fluvanna County - Formed in 1777 from Albemarle County.

Franklin County - Formed in 1785 from Henry and Bedford Counties.

Frederick County - Formed from Organe County in 1738, because area sparsely populated government not organized until 1743.

Giles County - Formed in 1806 from Montgomery, Monroe (now WVA) and TAzewell Counties. Parts of Wythe, Monroe (now WVA) and Mercer (now WVA, Craig and TAzewell added later.

Gloucestor County - Formed in 1651 from York County.

Goochland County - Formed in 1728 from Henrico County.

Grayson County - Formed in 1792 from Wythe County, portion of Patrick added later.

Greene County - Formed in 1838 from Orange County.

Greensville County - Formed in 1780 from Brunswick County. Parts of Brunswick and Sussex added later.

Halifax County - Formed in 1752 from Lunenburg County.

Hanover County - Formed in 1720 from New Kent County.

Henrico County - One of eight original shires formed in 1634.

Henry County - Formed in 1776 from Pittsylvania County.

Highland County - Formed in 1847 from Bath and Pendleton (now WVA) counties.

Isle of Wight County - One of 8 original shires formed in 1634. Part of Nansemond added in 1769.

James City County - One of the 8 original shires formed in 1634.
Parts of New Kent and York County were added later. At the LVA see also City of Williamsburg, many of those records were recorded with those of James City County.

King and Queen County - Formed in 1691 from New Kent County.

King George County - Formed from Richmond County in 1720. Part of Westmoreland added later.

King William County - Formed in 1701 from King and Queen County.

Lancaster County - Formed in 1651 from Northumberland and York Counties.

Lee County - Formed in 1792 from Russell County, part of Scott added later

Loudoun County - Formed in 1757 from Fairfax.

Louisa County - Formed in 1742 from Hanover County.

Lower Norfolk County - see Norfolk County.

Lunenburg County - Formed in 1745 from Brunswick County.

Madison County - Formed in 1792 from Culpeper County.

Mathews County - Formed in 1790 from Gloucestor County.

Mecklenburg County - Formed in 1764 from Lunenburg County.

Middlesex County - Formed in 1669 from Lancaster County.

Montgomery County - Formed in 1776 from Fincastle County, parts of Botetourt and Pulaski were added later.

Nansemond County - Formed in 1637 known as Upper NOrfolk, Nansemond County name adopted in 1646. The County became the independent City of Nansemond in 1972, merged with City of Suffolk in 1974. Entire area now known as Suffolk.

Nelson County - Formed in 1807 from Amherst County.

New Kent County - Formed in 1654 from York County.

New Norfolk County (extinct) - Formed in 1636 from Elizabeth City County. Became extinct when it was divided into Upper and Lower Norfolk Counties in 1637.

Norfolk County (extinct) - Formed in 1691 from Lower Norfolk. Norfolk County became extinct in 1963, when it was consolidated with the city of South Norfolk to form the City of Chesapeake.

Northampton County - One of original 8 shires established in 1634, known as Accomac. Name changed in 1643 to Northampton.

Northumberland County - Formed in 1645 from the district of Chickacoan, the area between the Potomac and Rappahannock Rivers.

NOttoway County - Formed in 1788 from Amelia County.

Messages In This Thread

[VA] Counties Formation - Part I A thru N
Re: [VA] Counties Formation - Part I A thru

18 Dec 2002 :: 14 Nov 2008
Copyright © 2002-2008 by AfriGeneas. All rights reserved.
AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy