Join the Genealogy Revolution.
Search for your surname in the largest DNA database of its kind!

My Surname


Footnote.com

Banner - Family Tree Maker 2008

Domain Name Registration at GoDaddy.com 120x60


Announcements and Events Forum

Property Rights and Wrongs:AA at the Courthouse

Research at the National Archives and Beyond! BlogTalkRadio

December 20, 2012

6pm Pacific, 7pm Mountain, 8pm Central and 9 pm Eastern

Property Rights and Wrongs: African-Americans at the Courthouse with The Legal Genealogist - Judy G. Russell, JD, CG

Overview: From being treated as property to having their property stolen by those who used the law against the freedmen, African Americans' experience at the courthouse had only one bright spot: it created records for the genealogist-descendants.

A Certified Genealogist with a law degree, The Legal Genealogist Judy G. Russell examines the interplay between genealogy and the law. She is a lecturer, educator and writer who enjoys helping others understand a variety of issues, ranging from using DNA in family history to the effect the law had on our ancestors’ lives and the records they left behind.


18 Dec 2002 :: 14 Nov 2008
Copyright © 2002-2008 by AfriGeneas. All rights reserved.
AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy