Join the Genealogy Revolution.
Search for your surname in the largest DNA database of its kind!

My Surname


Footnote.com

Banner - Family Tree Maker 2008

Domain Name Registration at GoDaddy.com 120x60


Announcements and Events Forum

Fathers of Conscience- Mixed Race Inheritance

Research at the National Archives and Beyond!
Blogtalkradio

Thursday- November 8, 2012
9pm Eastern, 8pm Central, 7pm Mountain, 6PM Pacific

Fathers of Conscience
Mixed-Race Inheritance in the Antebellum South

Bernie D. Jones, JD, Ph.D. will discuss her book - Fathers of Conscience - Mixed-Race Inheritance in the Antebellum South.

Fathers of Conscience examines high-court decisions in the antebellum South that involved wills in which white male planters bequeathed property, freedom, or both to women of color and their mixed-race children. These men, whose wills were contested by their white relatives, had used trusts and estates law to give their slave partners and children official recognition and thus circumvent the law of slavery. The will contests that followed determined whether that elevated status would be approved or denied by courts of law.

Bernie D. Jones is Associate Professor, Suffolk University Law School. She is a graduate of the New York University Law School and the University of Virginia Department of History.


18 Dec 2002 :: 14 Nov 2008
Copyright © 2002-2008 by AfriGeneas. All rights reserved.
AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy